continuous fermentation

Bourbon, Scotch, Rye...? ?... With so many different types of whiskey, each with its own characteristics, how can you tell the difference? Whiskey or whisky, which is right? What is the difference between a single malt and a blended malt. Today we will systematically discuss one of these spirits, whiskey.

First of all, whiskey and whisky, both are correct. If it's Scottish, Japanese or Canadian, whisky hong kongit's whiskey. If it's produced in the United States or Ireland, it's called whiskey. But there are also two American brands that call their wines Whiskey Maker's Mark and Old Forester. So don't worry too much about this, just know that both are whiskeys.

What is whiskey? Whiskey is a through distilled spirit made from barley, rye, corn, etc., which is distilled through continuous fermentation production and then aged in a wooden barrel. Whiskey has a wide range of origin, manufacturing technology methods do not have exactly the same, the main product varieties are

I. Scotland (Scotland)

Scotch whisky

Whisky from Scotland is usually aged in oak barrels for at least three years. Nowadays, most Scotch whisky is aged in aged bourbon casks, and occasionally in sherry and other aged casks. Scotch whisky is usually distilled twice and is strictly divided into the following categories based on the ingredients:

Single Malt Whisky:Whisky made from malted barley only, produced at a single distillery.

Single Grain (Single Grain): Whisky that is also produced in a corporate single distillery, but we have added other corporate grains from China in addition to the malted barley that can be malted. This product variety structure is more research rare, because most of our students situation grain whisky will be used to blend with malt whisky.

Blended Malt: A blend of two or more single malt distilleries' products.

Blended Grain: A blend of two or more single grain whiskies. Like single grain whisky, this is a very small category of Scotch whisky.

Blended Scotch Whisky: A whisky made by blending one or more single malts with one or more single grains. Most Scotch whiskies sold around the world are of this type.

Blended Scotch Whisky

Scotch Whisky Appellations

There are five official major Scotch whisky producing regions.

Campbell (Campbelltown: Campbell had over 30 distilleries in its heyday, but has now declined due to a variety of factors including American prohibition, World War I, and economic panic. Only three breweries are still in operation.

Campbell's wineries

The Highlands, the largest geographic area, boasts brands such as Steve McLaren, Auburn, Old Pulteney and Glenmorangie.

Islay:Islay has a number of smoky, peaty and salty whiskies such as Ardbeg and Laphroaig, both of which are over 200 years old. There are eight wineries on the island, including Baumol. Breichladdich, Caoria, Kilchoman, Lagavulin and others.

Lowlands: The same development as Campbell believes has begun to decline, and there are only a few wineries left.

Speyside: Speyside is home to the largest brewery in the Scottish region, accounting for about half of the country's total production. These include many of the most iconic brands such as Glenlivet, Glenfiddich, Aberlour and Balvenie.

Spesser's wineries

Outlying Islands: The unofficial 6th Region is an island territory representing all the outlying islands except the Aire River. It includes the distilleries of Highland Park, Talisker and Ellen.